Skip to Main Content

LCC Library

Siuslaw and Kuitsh: Native Americans of the Oregon Coast

This guide was written by former LCC librarian Don Macnaughtan. This guide is no longer being updated or maintained.

Ethnographic Research on the Siuslaw

Bibliography

blue pin Beckham, Stephen Dow, and Donald Whereat. "Captured Heritage: Confederated Tribes of Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Indians." The First Oregonians: An Illustrated Collection of Essays on Traditional Lifeways, Federal-Indian Relations, and the State's Native Peoples Today. Ed. Carolyn M. Buan and Richard Lewis. Portland: Oregon Council for the Humanities, 1991. 77-82. Print.

blue pin Beckham, Stephen Dow, and Kathryn A. Toepel. "The Siuslaw and Lower Umpqua." Cultural Resource Overview of BLM Lands in West-Central Oregon. Eugene: Heritage Research Associates, 1981. 97-115. Print.

blue pin Beckham, Stephen Dow, and Kathryn A. Toepel. "The Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw." Cultural Resource Overview of the Siuslaw National Forest, Western Oregon, Volume 1. Lake Oswego: Heritage Research Associates, 1982. 89-117. Print.

blue pin Beckham, Stephen Dow, and Kathryn A. Toepel. "Native Groups of the Oregon Coast Range." Cultural Resource Overview of the Siuslaw National Forest, Western Oregon, Volume 1.Lake Oswego: Heritage Research Associates, 1982. 33-41. Print.

blue pin Beckham, Stephen Dow. "Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw: Traditional Religious Practices." Native American Religious Practices and Uses, Siuslaw National Forest. Eugene: Heritage Research Associates, 1982. 35-56. Print.

blue pin Beckham, Stephen Dow. "Traditional Lifeways: The Oregon Coast." The First Oregonians: An Illustrated Collection of Essays on Traditional Lifeways, Federal-Indian Relations, and the State's Native Peoples Today. Ed. Carolyn M. Buan and Richard Lewis. Portland: Oregon Council for the Humanities, 1991. 2-7. Print.

blue pin Beckham, Stephen Dow. "The Confederated Tribes of Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Indians." Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia. Ed. Mary B. Davis. New York: Garland, 1994. 133-135. Print.

blue pin Beckham, Stephen DowThe Indians of Western Oregon: This Land Was Theirs. Coos Bay: Arago Books, 1977. 236p. Print.

blue pin Confederated Tribes of Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw IndiansArrow Chain: Reclaiming Our Heritage Coos Bay: Confederated Tribes, 1995. 28 min. Videorecording.

blue pin Elliot, May B. and Billy DickDescription and Meanings of Lower Umpqua Indian Ceremonies and Dances, Plus Singing and Interpretation of Tribal Songs. * Recordings in the Archives of Indian Information, Washington DC.

blue pin Knowles, Margie YOur Siuslaw Natives, the Indians. Salem: Capital City, 1965. 55p. Print.

blue pin Knowles, Margie Y. "The Siuslaws: The Story of the Indians Who Inhabited This Section of the Oregon Coast." Siuslaw Pioneer (1952): 1-19. Print.

blue pin Lalande, Jeffrey MThe Indians of Southwest Oregon: An Ethnohistorical Review. Corvallis: Oregon State U, 1991. 66p. Print.

blue pin Mackey, Harold. "Siuslaw Head Flattening." Oregon Historical Quarterly 69 (1968): 171-173. Print.

blue pin Ramsey, Jarold W., ed. Coyote Was Going There: Indian Literature of the Oregon Country. Seattle: U of Washington Press, 1977. 295p. Print.

blue pin Ruby, Robert H., and John A. Brown. "Kuitsh." A Guide to the Indian Tribes of the Pacific Northwest. Rev. Ed. Norman: U of Oklahoma Press, 1992. 97-98. Print.

blue pin Ruby, Robert H. and John A. Brown. "Siuslaw." A Guide to the Indian Tribes of the Pacific Northwest. Norman: U of Oklahoma Press, 1992. 206-207. Print.

blue pin Thoele, Mike. "She Keeps the Memory of Coastal Indians Alive." Register-Guard 8 May 1990: 3B. Print. * Profile of Florence resident Marge Severy, last full-blooded member of the Kuitsh and Siuslaw.

blue pin Thomas, Ronald GLife in the Siuslaw Valley Prior to European Settlement: Glimpses of Tribal Lifestyle at the Convergence of Siuslaw, Kalapuya, Yoncalla and Lower Umpqua Tribal Domains. Eugene: Author, 1991. 51p. Print.

blue pin Thornton, JimThe Indians of the Oregon Coast: The Ancient and Original Inhabitants, as Recorded in the John P. Harrington Collection of the Smithsonian Institution National Anthropological Archives. Coos Bay: Coos County Education Service District, 1978. Print.

blue pin Zenk, Henry B. "Siuslawans and Coosans." Handbook of North American Indians: Volume 7, Northwest Coast. Ed. Wayne Suttles. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution, 1990. 572-579. Print.

blue pin Zucker, JeffOregon Indians: Culture, History and Current Affairs: An Atlas and Introduction. Portland: Oregon Historical Soc. Press, 1983. 229p. Print.

X
Ask Us
We're here to help!