Skip to Main Content

LCC Library

Siuslaw and Kuitsh: Native Americans of the Oregon Coast

This guide was written by former LCC librarian Don Macnaughtan. This guide is no longer being updated or maintained.

Language of the Siuslaw

Bibliography

blue pin Bissell, George PUmpkwa (Kuitsh) Vocabulary. 1881. 56p. * Manuscript No. 873 in the National Anthropological Archives, Washington DC. Contains 801 terms. Print.

blue pin Buckley, Eugene L. "Coast Oregon Penutian: A Lexical Comparison." Proceedings of the Third Annual Meeting of the Pacific Linguistics Conference: November 1987, University of Oregon, Eugene. Ed. Scott Delancey and Russell S. Tomlin. Eugene: U of Oregon, 1987. 43-69. Print.

blue pin Dorsey, James ORemarks on Kallawatset and Siusclau. 1886. 1p. * Manuscript No. 4800/390 in the Dorsey Papers, National Anthropological Archives, Washington DC. Print.

blue pin Dorsey, James OSiuslaw Vocabulary, with Sketch Map Showing Villages and Key Giving Village Names. 1884. 12p. * Manuscript No. 4800/394 in the Dorsey Papers, National Anthropological Archives, Washington DC. Print.

blue pin Dorsey, James OLower Umpqua (Kuitsh) Vocabulary and Grammatical Notes, Spoken by the Yakonan-Speaking Indians Formerly Living on Umpqua Bay, Oregon. 1884. 146p. * Manuscript No. 4800/395 in the Dorsey Papers, National Anthropological Archives, Washington DC. Print.

blue pin Elliot, May B. and Billy DickDescription and Meanings of Lower Umpqua Indian Ceremonies and Dances, Plus Singing and Interpretation of Tribal Songs. * Recordings in the Archives of Indian Information, Washington DC.

blue pin Frachtenberg, Leo JKuitsh (Lower Umpqua). 480p. 6 Notebooks. * Manuscript No. 1728 in the National Anthropological Archives, Washington DC. Print.

blue pin Frachtenberg, Leo JLinguistic Relationships between Coos, Siuslaw, and Alsea. 110 Slips. * Manuscript No. 2021 in the National Anthropological Archives, Washington DC. Print.

blue pin Frachtenberg, Leo JKuitsh (Lower Umpqua) Grammatical Index. 150 Cards. * Manuscript No. 2516b in the National Anthropological Archives, Washington DC. Print.

blue pin Frachtenberg, Leo J. "A Siletz Vocabulary." International Journal of American Linguistics 1 (1917): 45-46. Print.

blue pin Frachtenberg, Leo JSiuslaw Myths. 9p. * Manuscript No. 1725 in the National Anthropological Archives, Washington DC. Print.

blue pin Frachtenberg, Leo J. "Siuslawan (Lower Umpqua)." Handbook of American Indian Languages. Part 2B. Ed. Franz Boas. Washington, DC: Bureau of American Ethnology, 1922. 431-639. Print.

blue pin Frachtenberg, Leo JSiuslaw-English Dictionary. 1260 Cards. * Manuscript No. 2625 in the National Anthropological Archives, Washington DC. Print.

blue pin Frachtenberg, Leo JGrammar in the Siuslaw Language. 386p. * Manuscript No. 1727 in the National Anthropological Archives, Washington DC. Print.

blue pin Frachtenberg, Leo JLower Umpqua Texts and Notes on the Kusan Dialects. New York: Columbia U Press, 1914. 156p. Print.

blue pin Gatschet, Albert S. "Volk und Sprache der Maklaks im Sudwestlichen Oregon." Globus Illustrirte Zeitschrift 35 (1879): 161-171, 187-189. Print.

blue pin Harrington, John PThe Papers of John P. Harrington: Alaska/Northwest Coast, Number 021: Alsea/Siuslaw/Coos. Millwood: Kraus International, 1981. Microfilm.

blue pin Harrington, John PThe Papers of John P. Harrington: Alaska/Northwest Coast, Number 022: Alsea/Siuslaw/Coos Millwood: Kraus International, 1981. Microfilm.

blue pin Harrington, John PThe Papers of John P. Harrington: Alaska/Northwest Coast, Number 023: Alsea/Siuslaw/Coos Millwood: Kraus International, 1981. Microfilm.

blue pin Harrington, John PThe Papers of John P. Harrington: Alaska/Northwest Coast, Number 024: Alsea/Siuslaw/Coos. Millwood: Kraus International, 1981. Microfilm.

blue pin Hymes, Dell H. "Some Points of Siuslaw Phonology." International Journal of American Linguistics 32 (1966): 328-342. Print.

blue pin Jacobs, MelvilleLower Umpqua Linguistic Data. 1935. 131 file slips. * Files in the Jacobs Collection, U of Washington, Seattle. This data was collected in late 1935 from Hank Johnson of Siletz, and includes some Siuslaw data. Print.

blue pin Milhau, John JVocabulary of the Dialects of Coos Bay (Anastich and Coos Bay). Letter to George Gibbs With Short Vocabularies of the Alsea, Siuslaw, Hanis and Miluk Languages. 1856. 12p. * Manuscript No. 191a in the National Anthropological Archives, Washington DC. Print.

blue pin Milhau, John JLower Umpqua Vocabulary. 1856. 3p. * Manuscript No. 958 in the National Anthropological Archives, Washington DC. Print.

blue pin Pierce, Joe E. "Genetic Comparisons and Hanis, Miluk, Alsea, Siuslaw, and Takelma." International Journal of American Linguistics 32 (1966): 379-387. Print.

blue pin Powell, John W. "Indian Linguistic Families North of Mexico: Yakonan Family." Seventh Annual Report of the Bureau of Ethnology, 1885-1886. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1891. 133-135. Print.

blue pin Ramsey, Jarold W. EdCoyote Was Going There: Indian Literature of the Oregon Country. Seattle: U of Washington Press, 1977. 295p. Print.

blue pin Salzmann, Zden’k. "A Method for Analyzing Numeral Systems." Word 6 (1950: 78-83. Print. * This article discusses Siuslawan numerical systems.

blue pin "Siuslaw Language." Wikipedia

blue pin Swadesh, Morris. "On the Penutian Vocabulary Survey." International Journal of American Linguistics 20 (1954): 123-133. Print.

blue pin Swadesh, MorrisTape Recordings of Tututni, Coos and Siuslaw. 1953. Audio recordings.

X
Ask Us
We're here to help!