Find books
You can access print and electronic books, electronic reference books, and videos through the Library's Online Catalog, accessible on the LCC Library's website. Here are examples of Library of Congress subject headings in Sociology:
Find articles
- Academic Search CompleteFull text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans almost every area of academic study and offers coverage as far back as 1887. Users have the option of translating articles into one of over 30 languages, including Spanish. Advanced Search ยป
- Academic OneFilePeer-reviewed, full-text articles from over 5,000 scholarly journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, health, arts, social sciences, the humanities and more. Users have the option of translating articles into one of over 30 languages, including Spanish.
Dictionaries & encyclopedias
- A Dictionary of SociologyA consistent best-seller, this wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary covers terminology, concepts, and thinkers in the field of sociology, as well as from the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science.
Social Sciences
A general guide to assist students with social science research and assignments.
Books & e-books
Understanding societies : readings for introductory sociologyCall Number: HM586 .U53 2012Publication Date: 2012
Website
- American Sociological AssociationThe American Sociological Association (ASA), founded in 1905, is a non-profit membership association dedicated to advancing sociology as a scientific discipline and profession serving the public good. With over 11,000 members, ASA encompasses sociologists who are faculty members at colleges and universities, researchers, practitioners, and students. About 20 percent of the members work in government, business, or non-profit organizations.