Skip to main content
Library

Finding Statistical Information: Home

This guide provides links to websites that can help you find statistics on the Web.

Spotlight on Local Data

If you need statistical information about LCC, there's no better source than the office of Institutional Research.

***

Government data on states, counties, and cities can be difficult to locate. Data for Local Communities was created to fill researchers' needs for information on Oregon and Washington. The database is hosted by University of Oregon.

***

For more state and local resources, see the following sites:

State of the Cities Data Systems
Information on housing and economic development, including demographic and economic population characteristics, labor force data, information on jobs, and much more.

American Fact Finder
Serves as a quick way to find population, housing, economic, and geographic data. From the U. S. Census Bureau.

***

You might also try the websites for the executive branches at the city, county, and state levels.

City of Eugene

City of Springfield

Lane County

State of Oregon Government

Web Search Tricks

Use Google to make your search more effective:

You can not only limit your search to only government sites by adding site:gov to your search string, as in the following example:

   immigration site:gov

You can also limit your search to one specific site, as in the following examples:

   tattoos site:nih.gov

   obesity site:oregon.gov

   homeless site:eugene-or.gov

Another way to make your Web search more effective is to use Google Advanced Search.  It allows you to be a lot more specific.

Federal Government Publications

Most government publications are now distributed on the Web. Your gateway to this information is available through the Federal Digital System, formerly known as GPO Access.

Federal Digital System Federal Digital System
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/

 

Or, you can try use Google and limit your searches to government sites only by using the site: command.  If you were looking for governmental statistics on salmon in Oregon, this is what your search might look like:

site:gov statistics salmon oregon

This limited my search to governmental websites that mention the words "statistics," "salmon," and "oregon."

Federal Statistics

Statistics in Library Databases

These databases are also good places to look for statistical graphics.  They also provide access to magazine articles and other sources of information.

CQ Researcher
explores a "hot" current events issue each week, and devotes 50 or 60 pages to it!  Once you find a good article, click on the Maps/Graphs link to see the statistical graphics.  Click on "Chronology" to see historical events arranged by date.  Statistics are scattered through each article, but you can also click on "Contacts" to find a list of organizations working on the issue.  Click on the links to their websites, and often they will include statistics.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
One-stop source for information on social issues . Includes articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.  To find statistics, search for your topic then click on the "statistics" tab.

SIRS Researcher
Full text articles and internet resources on social issues, science, history, government, the arts and humanities.  The best way to find statistics is to click on the tiny "More Issues" link on the lower right hand side of the page.  Find your topic and click on it.  Under the "Topic Overview," there should be some icons.  Click on "Statistics" and you'll find both graphically represented statistics and articles that are heavy on statistics.  Click on "Graphics/Media" to find even more graphs and charts.

Other LCC Library Databases
Other databases could have the information you need.  And if you need to find local information, you'll definitely need to search our newspaper databases, such as the Register-Guard.

Polling Information

Polling data can tell you how people feel about a certain person or issue.

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions.

Public Agenda Online
Nonpartisan opinion research organization that reports surveys conducted by national firms on public policy issues. Especially strong coverage of quality of life and social issues; for example, race relations, health care, privacy, drug abuse, crime, the environment, and immigration.

Rasmussen Reports
Specializes in the collection, publication and distribution of public opinion polling information. 

Agency Guides

Wolfram|Alpha

Wolfram|Alpha
is a new kind of search engine just for finding statistics.  It can be difficult to find what you want, but it is definitely worth a try.  The trick is to be as specific as you can.  For examples of successful searches, see Wolfram|Alpha's Examples by Topics page.

Guilty Party

Jen Ferro's picture
Jen Ferro
Contact:
Reference & Instruction Librarian
Lane Community College
Center Building, Room 227
(541) 463-5825
Website