Graphic Design

A guide to support research and assignments for LCC students taking Graphic Design courses.

Graphic Design Collections

The internet is bursting with excellent content for graphic art and design. The resources linked below were chosen specifically for vibrant visual content, research scope, and include only resources in English.

Cooper Hewitt Museum
The Cooper-Hewitt collection is international in scope, includes both historic and contemporary design, and includes one-of-a-kind and mass-produced items. The collection focuses on drawings, prints and graphic works; product design, textiles, and wall coverings.
Museum of Modern Art – Online Learning
Outstanding resource for research on modern art and its influences worldwide, up to the present.
Design Observer
Beautifully designed site featuring articles, visual features, opportunities, and ideas to inspire graphic designers.
Design Museum (London)
The Design Museum is one of the world’s leading museums devoted to contemporary design in every form from furniture to graphics, and architecture to industrial design. Exhibitions focus on design in contemporary culture.
Whitney Museum of American Art – Online Collections
Excellent resource for research on contemporary art and artists in the US.
Guggenheim Museum – Online Collections
Excellent resource for the study of international contemporary art and artists.
The New Museum
Excellent resource on contemporary art, artists, and cutting-edge thematic exhibits.

Reference Online

Here are some excellent online reference resources you can access from the LCC Library homepage.

Credo Reference
Search and access over 460 high-quality encyclopedias and dictionaries in a wide variety of subject areas.
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
Contains over 3,000 entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures.
Oxford Reference Premium Online Collection
Combines rich and scholarly resources with authoritative quick-reference coverage of a broad range of topics including arts and humanities, history, literature, and science.