Graphic Design
Finding journals
Find articles in relevant magazines and journals
LCC Library subscribes to many excellent Research Databases that will help you find articles on topics in graphic design. Try the databases below for access to hundreds of relevant magazine and newspaper articles:
Academic Search Complete Full text for over 8000 full-text journals, including more than 7000 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
MasterFILE Premier Provides full text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications with full-text information dating as far back as 1975.
Selected Journals
Film still from Pandora's Box, directed by G.W. Pabst, 1928. Image courtesy of ARTstor.
LCC Library has access to many magazines and journals relevant to graphic arts and design. Here are links to a few important ones:
- Design QuarterlyInterior design, engineering, art, architecture, urban design and computer design for professionals and students in the field.
- Design IssuesQuarterly journal with focus on criticism, history and theory of design.
- PrintPrint portfolios, profiles, thematic issues, historical perspective, and articles in all areas of graphic design for designers, illustrators, and photographers.
- Art in AmericaArticles on major achievements and events throughout the art world, particularly in painting, sculpture, photography and prints.
- AssemblageFocus on architectural theory and criticism, contemporary practice, and the relationships between culture and design.
- Graphic Arts MonthlyArticles, business profiles, interviews, product reviews and news of note for managers in the printing industry.
- AdbustersFocus on social aspects of media and branding with an activist bent. Great graphic content and witty mash-ups.