Music
Guide to Library and other resources in Music.
Articles from Newspapers
Newspaper articles can be one of the best ways to find current information about music being performed, as well as reviews of past performances. We have two especially good options for finding newspaper articles:
- U.S. Major Dailies
Searchable database includes articles from the following newspapers:- Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
- LA Times (1985-present)
- New York Times (1980-present)
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
- Washington Post (1987-present)
- The New York Times Online
As a member of the LCC community, you can subscribe to the online edition of the New York Times for free. It is searchable, and includes all articles published from 1851 to the present day. Visit our New York Times webpage for instructions on how to subscribe.
Articles from Journals and Magazines
Search in our EBSCO databases to find other articles on dance topics. EBSCO databases contain millions of articles that you wouldn't be able to find for free on the Web, because they were originally published on paper. You can find the search blank for EBSCO databases at the top of our "Databases" webpage, under the orange "Article search" tab.
Interesting Music Magazines & Journals
- BillboardThe international newsweekly of music, video and home entertainment; profiles, commentary, album ratings, feature articles, marketing and reviews.
- Bulletin for the Society of American MusicProvides a timely and informal means by which members of the Society for American Music communicate with each other.
- Folk Music JournalJournal of traditional song, music, and dance published under the auspices of the English Folk Dance & Song Society.
- The Horn Call: Journal of the International Horn SocietyIncludes feature articles, clinics, music and recording reviews, news, workshop reports, biographical features, and advertisements for horn-related products and services.
- International Musician: Official Journal of the American Federation of Musicians of the United States and CanadaAims to serve the collective needs of professional union musicians.
- International PianoPresents player interviews, features on the piano greats of yesteryear, instrument makers and the rising stars of today, plus masterclasses, discographies, reviews and the latest international news.
- Journal of Musicological ResearchCovers a wide range of approaches to the study of music.
- Latin American Music ReviewExplores the historical, ethnographic, & socio-cultural dimensions of Latin American music in Latin American social groups, including the Puerto Rican, Mexican, Cuban, & Portuguese populations in the United States.
- Metal HammerBilled as the world's biggest and best metal magazine.
- Music Performance ResearchPublishes contributions from all disciplines that are relevant to music performance, including archaeology, cultural studies, composition, computer science, education, ethnomusicology, history, medicine, music theory and analysis.
- Music Theory Online: A Publication of the Society for Music TheoryFeatures articles, reviews, commentaries, and analytical essays related to the field of professional music theory.
- The Old-Time Herald: A Magazine Dedicated to Old-Time MusicDiscusses traditional American string band music and related traditions, with an emphasis on the tradition of the American South.
- Popular Music HistoryOriginal historical & historiographical research that draws on the wide range of disciplines & intellectual trajectories that have contributed to the establishment of popular music studies as a recognized academic enterprise.
- PsychomusicologyA resource for researchers in music cognition.
- Rolling StoneRock & Roll, national affairs, feature stories, reviews, classified ads, and the music charts.