Music
Guide to Library and other resources in Music.
Sheet Music in the LCC Library and Beyond
The LCC Library has a small collection of sheet music, mostly vocal music. To see if we have sheet music for a song, search for the title of the song, "in quotes," in the LCC Library catalog. The UO Library has a large collection of sheet music and scores, and you may borrow items from them using the Summit borrowing system. You can go to their library and check items out, or you can request items be sent here for you if you find them using our catalog.
The Singer's Musical Theatre Anthology
 |
The LCC Library owns the entire collection of The Singer's Musical Theatre Anthology, with its accompaniment CDs. Each volume offers songs from the musical theatre, aimed at a specific voice type: Soprano, Mezzo-Soprano, Tenor, or Baritone/Bass. There are also volumes for duets and trios. They are located on the upper floor of the Library under call number M1507 .S635. |
Free Sources of Sheet Music on the Web
- Art Song CentralArt Song Central is principally an archive and directory of free, printable public domain sheet music for singers and voice teachers. An emphasis is placed on standard classical and traditional repertoire.
- California Sheet Music Project, UC BerkeleyA virtual library of some 2,000 pieces of sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900, together with related materials such as a San Francisco publisher's catalog of 1872, programs, songsheets, advertisements, and photographs. Images of every printed page of sheet music have been scanned at 400 dpi, in color where indicated.
- Choral Public Domain LibraryThis site is a wiki-style portal dedicated to providing free, legal scores of choral music.
- Digital Sheet Music ConsortiumDigitized sheet music in the public domain (prior to 1923). Consortium members include UCLA, Indiana University, Johns Hopkins University, and the Library of Congress, among several others.
- Free-scores.comThe worldwide free sheet music directory; over 45000 pieces of music available to download in PDF format; site can be accessed in French or English-language.
- International Music Score Library ProjectThe IMSLP is a community-built library of public domain sheet music that contains an extensive collection of original scores scanned to PDF.
- Musical Scores CollectionThis collection from the University of Rochester contains more than 20,000 scores in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.
- Oregon Digital Historic Sheet Music CollectionThe University of Oregon Libraries present here a selection of images from the collections of printed sheet music held by the Music Services Department and in the Oregon Collection of Special Collections & University Archives at the University of Oregon Libraries.
- W. A. Mozart's Complete WorksMozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use.