OER | Open Educational Resources

This guide is intended to help faculty and students at Lane Community College learn about OER, re-purpose existing content, and create new resources to share. OER includes free textbooks, online tutorials, and open media that is free of cost or low cost.

Open Image Resources

Flickr: Creative Commons
A collection of images published on Flickr using a Creative Commons license.
NY Public Library Digital Gallery
Open access to over 700,000 digital images from the New York Public Library's collections.
U.S. Government Photos and Images
A vast collection of photos and images from the U.S. Government, many of which are in the public domain and free to use.
Shared Shelf Commons
An open-access database of image collections shared by institutional users of Shared Shelf.
Wellcome Images
Providing access to the visual collections of the Wellcome Library, which documents "2000 years of human culture" with a focus on biomedical imagery. Most images are open access, some require payment.
Getty Open Content Images
Search over 10,000 images from Getty Museum and Research Institute collections made available for download.

Streaming media at Lane

Lane subscribes to multiple streaming video publishers. Most of these resources can be embedded in Moodle pages, or used as shared links in an online course or syllabus.

Thousands of clips are available -- from cell division in basic biology to complex issues in urbanism.

Visit the Library Video Resources page for a lot more!

Open Video Resources

Moving Image Archive
A large collection of movies, films and videos that are all free to use.
The Open Video Project
A repository of open access digitized videos for education and learning purposes.
Internet Archive - Moving Image Archive
Over 1.5 million digitized videos and clips, including cartoons, commercials and classic films, many public domain or available via Creative Commons license.
Art History Teaching Resources
A peer-populated platform for art history teachers. Has a few museum videos in connection with specific classes, mostly teaching materials. Very well curated.

Open Multimedia Resources

TED Talks
Inspiring thinkers on a range of subjects present big ideas and lectures on a regular basis- completely CC licensed.
Wikimedia Commons
The thinkers behind Wikipedia bring you images, video and music all openly licensed or in the public domain.
HippoCampus
HippoCampus, a project of the Monterey Institute of Technology and Education (MITE), is full of high-quality resources in a variety of subjects. It is aimed at high school and college level users.
PhEt Science Simulations
Interactive simulation tools from the University of Colorado at Boulder; many are CC licensed.
Jamendo
Platform for independent musicians sharing their music.
Vimeo
A social network of video producers. This is a great place to look for a wide variety of content- some is completely open for redistribution, some is open access.
Critical Commons
A community of people who seek to promote the use of media in teaching. The materials posted here are mostly presented using Fair Use guidelines.

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2023 3:57 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.lanecc.edu/oer
Print Page
Staff login

Subjects: Libraries and Research

Tags: open access, teaching, teaching materials, textbooks