Dance
Guide to Library and other resources in dance.
International Encyclopedia of Dance
 |
With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the International Encyclopedia of Dance covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers. |
When searching the Encyclopedia of Dance, don't use the search blank at the top of the page! Instead, use the "Search within work" search blank on the left side of the page:
Other Online Reference Books on Dance
Dance is an interdisciplinary topic. Dancers may find useful articles in reference books on a wide range of topics. To search for articles in the LCC Library's online reference collection, use our Online Encyclopedias webpage. To read articles from one of the reference books below, click on the link, then click on the name of the collection under where it says "Full text availability."
The Bloomsbury Companion to Dance StudiesBrings together leading international dance scholars in this single collection to provide a vivid picture of the state of contemporary dance research.
Cultural Encyclopedia of the BodyAn amazing collection of culturally informed essays on body parts provides context and weight to the pop culture and media focus on the body beautiful.
The Encyclopedia of World BalletThis reference work of more than 160 entries focuses on the uniqueness of ballet in the arts and its contribution to the study and appreciation of rhythmic control and the body in motion.
Fifty Contemporary ChoreographersA unique and authoritative guide to the lives and work of prominent contemporary choreographers.
The Oxford Dictionary of DanceCovers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.
The Routledge Dance Studies ReaderThese interdisciplinary essays in dance scholarship consider a broad range of dance forms in relation to historical, ethnographic, and interdisciplinary research methods including cultural studies, reconstruction, media studies, and popular culture.
