It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Are you already a climate activist? Or would you like to become a climate activist but you're not sure where to start? This research guide provides a list of information resources and local organizations helpful to climate activists in the Eugene area.
“It’s important to remember that inaction is rarely about a lack of concern or care, but is so much more complex . . . Namely, that we westerners are living in a society that is still deeply entrenched in the very practices we now know are damaging and destructive. This creates a very specific kind of situation—what psychologists call cognitive dissonance. "
If you have come to recognize that climate change will lead to a near term collapse in our way of life, or even worse, then this can be a very difficult realization to process, integrate into our lives, or communicate to other people. The key thing is not to sit with these emotions on your own. Many people feel very lonely in their realization. Here are some links to helpful resources that enable you to get in touch with others.
"As our climate changes, so does our health. Health researchers are warning of serious risks that go along with a warming planet, including a longer, more intense allergy season, higher risk of disease from smoke and air pollution, and intensified mental health issues due to extreme heat and climate anxiety. Forum discusses the toll that climate change may have on our society's physical and mental health."
"Climate change and environmental movements have long been criticised for trying to motivate the population through negative narratives and doomsday scenarios. It is obvious how such framings can turn people off or at worse encourages a state of denial. As a result, we have seen much of the movement shift in recent years towards more positive narratives of climate hope and telling stories of change. People also need agency to act to avoid feelings of apathy and hopelessness."
“We have for too long as scientists rested on the assumption that by providing indisputable facts and great data that we are…counter[ing] the forces against science. And obviously that strategy has failed miserably.”
"In his black-and-white photography series 'Scared Scientists,' Nick Bowers captures a raw element not often associated with scientific knowledge. For the series, Bowers interviewed a selection of scientists in varying fields, capturing the frightened looks on their faces while they contemplated their findings. "
"The Good Grief Network creates and disperses tools to help sustain individuals on this difficult and brave journey of becoming a changemaker amidst such overwhelming destruction. We have constructed a 10-step program designed to build personal resilience and empowerment for those of us aware of and overwhelmed by the state of the world. It provides networking opportunities to share resources and strategies for healing and co-creating a life-sustaining society."
" . . . when the heat index rose above 103 degrees . . . The rate of emergency medical calls for psychiatric disorders and drug and alcohol overdoses increased sharply . . . The American Psychiatric Association says 'exposure to extreme heat has been associated with increased use of alcohol to cope with stress' and an 'increase in suicide.'"
The Anxiety Disorders Association of America (ADAA) is a national nonprofit organization dedicated to the prevention, treatment, and cure of anxiety disorders and to improving the lives of all people who suffer from them.
Short self-help handout.
"Most people understand that it is important to express one’s feelings and for everyone to acknowledge one another’s feelings. However, expressing feelings is not as easy as you might think."
Dual Diagnosis Anonymous (DDA) is a peer support group based on an authorized version of the 12 Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous plus an additional 5 Steps that focus on Dual Diagnosis (mental illness and substance abuse). DDA's unique 12 Steps Plus 5 Program offers hope for achieving the promise of recovery.
"The programs offered at EMERGENCE are designed to be individualized and accommodate clients with special needs from offering weekend evening groups, for the working adult, as well as sessions in the day for those with childcare barriers. EMERGENCE is low cost and provides sliding fee scales to help make treatment more affordable."
The Mental Health Association of Oregon is an inclusive grassroots organization dedicated to empowering consumer / survivor voices to drive services and policies that foster wellness and full participation in the community.
The Clearinghouse works to foster mental health consumer empowerment through our website, up-to-date news and information announcements, a directory of consumer-driven services, electronic and printed publications, training packages, and individual and onsite consultation.
Short self-help handout.
"Feeling sad or worried is a normal part of everyday life. There are times, however, when these feelings become a 'mood' that begins to color the way we look at everything, even things that do not typically cause sadness or worry. Such a mood may have a physical cause—hormones, medications, fatigue, lack of sleep, pain, blood sugar, etc.—or it could be a feeling that somehow became hard to shake off. Either way, prevention can play a large role in not letting the mood 'stick.'"
Sliding-Scale or Low-Cost Places to Get Help in the Eugene-Springfield Area
"Same-day assessments are available for those interested in mental health services. They are scheduled on a first-come, first-served basis. Come in to our office at 261 E. 12th Avenue in Eugene beginning at 8:00am, Monday - Thursday to complete the opening paperwork and to be added to the afternoon schedule later that day."
Provides counseling and resource referrals for students with academic or personal concerns impacting their ability to reach short term and long term goals. Lane provides drop-in substance abuse prevention services for all students, staff, and faculty. This includes support groups and/or information on a variety of addictive behavior concerns.
Lane County Behavioral Health encompasses a broad array of services and programs. Services include treatment for children, families and adults. Services can be accessed through a variety of mental health programs.
Looking Glass operates a 24-hour, 7 day-a-week crisis line for parents of children up to age 18 to call when their child is having an immediate mental health, emotional, or behavioral crisis. Trained crisis responders provide assistance to parents over the phone and, if necessary, can deploy a 2-person team to the family home to respond directly to the crisis. Short-term respite for children is also available when needed. Call 1-888-989-9990.
The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline is a 24-hour, toll-free, confidential suicide prevention hotline available to anyone in suicidal crisis or emotional distress. By dialing 1-800-273-TALK (8255), the call is routed to the nearest crisis center in our national network of more than 150 crisis centers. The Lifeline’s national network of local crisis centers provide crisis counseling and mental health referrals day and night.
"Volunteers In Medicine is a primary care medical clinic for low-income, underserved adults and their households in Lane County who can’t afford health care coverage. Even with the Affordable Care Act, many individuals lack the financial means to pay for high deductibles, co-pays, and other out-of-pocket expenses. Services include primary health care, women’s health care, behavioral health care, diabetes management, onsite pharmacy and physical therapy."
CAHOOTS is a mobile crisis intervention team integrated into the City of Eugene's Public Safety system. Free response is available for a broad range of non-criminal crises including intoxication, disorientation, substance abuse and mental illness problems. The CAHOOTS van can be dispatched through the City's 911 department. Transport to treatment is provided. Confidential and voluntary, it is staffed and managed by White Bird Clinic. Call 682-5111 for dispatch.
We are Lane County’s free, 24-hr crisis intervention service at 541-687-4000 / 1-800-422-7558. Our services include phone and walk-in support for crisis intervention, mental health information and referral, and transportation assistance for people with mental health-related disabilities. Crisis services are open to individuals, couples, families, and groups.