Skip to Main Content

LCC Library

BA 214 Business Communications: Find Articles

Information and resources of interest to Business 214 students available at the LCC Library and on the free web. Please consult a reference librarian for further assistance

What is a Periodical Database?

a cluster of database logos

What is a Periodical?

A periodical is a publication that is published periodically, like popular newspapers, magazines, scholarly peer-reviewed journals, yearbooks, and news websites. Periodicals are a great source of up-to-date information because, unlike books, they are updated more quickly and frequently.

What is a Database?

Quite simply, a database is a searchable collection of information, in this case about the articles contained in periodicals. A periodical database helps you find information about these articles and, in many cases, provides a full copy which you can read, save, or print to keep.

What is the difference between a General and Subject database?

General databases like Academic Search Premier provide you with information about periodicals and articles covering a wide range of subjects. They include information about both popular and scholarly peer-reviewed literature. Subject databases provide you with information about periodicals and articles covering a specific subject and tend to focus more on scholarly peer reviewed literature. For example, the Credo Reference database focuses on a variety subjects found in subject encyclopedias.
 

Where do I find Periodical Databases appropriate for my research?

First navigate to the relevant research guide, e.g., Business 214 Business Communcations. You may also click on the link located on the LCC Library homepage. On the Research Databases page, you will find a list of databases for your subject area. Locate the Business category.

Business Periodical Databases

business source premier

Business Source Premier

Full text for more than 7,400 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for nearly 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. To begin a search click here.

Business insights: essentials 

Business Insights: Essentials

is a fully integrated database bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. It includes over 4,000 periodicals. To begin a search click here. 

Small business resource center

Small Business Resource Center 

Offers users complete small business management resources including periodicals and reference content, covering all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, accounting, taxes, and more. To begin a search click here. 

Regional Business News

Regional Business News

Comprehensive full-text coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and news wires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. To begin a search click here.

Communications and Mass Media

Communications & Mass Media Collection 

A custom collection of more than 250 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field: key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature. To begin a search click here.

X
Ask Us
We're here to help!