Skip to Main Content

LCC Library

Librarians' Toolbox: Journals

A place for LCC Librarians to store and distribute useful information and tools.

Databases

  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
    Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. 

  • Library Literature & Information Science Full Text
    Indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per year. This resource delivers full text articles cover to cover from over a hundred select publications.


Journal Collections and Search Tools

  • American Library Association Periodicals: Index of Titles
    A list of the various newsletters, magazines, and journals published within the American Library Association, including those which are only available online. This list is in alphabetical order by title.
     
  • Directory of Open Access Journals
    A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
     
  • Electronic Journals Library
    The Electronic Journals Library is a service to facilitate the use of scholarly journals on the internet. It offers a fast, structured and unified interface to access full-text articles online.
     
  • Goldrush
    Gold Rush is a tool to help you find the best databases to search for information on a specific topic or from a specific journal.

Open Access eJournals

  • AAUP Journal of Academic Freedom
    Scholarship on academic freedom and on its relation to shared governance, tenure, and collective bargaining.

  • Annals of Library & Information Studies
    Publishes original papers, survey reports, reviews, short communications, and letters pertaining to library science, information science and computer applications in these fields.

  • College & Research Libraries
    The official scholarly research journal of the Association of College & Research Libraries, a division of the American Library Association, 50 East Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611. C&RL is a bimonthly, online-only publication highlighting a new C&RL study with a free, live, expert panel comprised of the study's authors and additional subject experts.

  • College & Research Libraries News
    Established in 1966, College & Research Libraries News (C&RL News) provides articles on the latest trends and practices affecting academic and research libraries and serves as the official newsmagazine and publication of record of the Association of College and Research Libraries.

  • Code {4} Lib Journal
    The Code4Lib Journal exists to foster community and share information among those interested in the intersection of libraries, technology, and the future.

  • Collaborative Librarianship
    An open-access journal focusing on think widely and creatively on new types of, and potentials for, partnerships.
     
  • Communications in Information Literacy
    An open-access, independent, peer-reviewed journal on information literacy in institutions of higher education.

     
  • Evidence Based Library and Information Practice
    EBLIP is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that is published quarterly. Provides a forum for librarians to discover research that may contribute to decision making in professional practice.
     
  • IFLA Journal
    An international journal publishing peer reviewed articles on library and information services and the social, political and economic issues that impact access to information through libraries.

  • In the Library with a Lead Pipe
    In the Library with the Lead Pipe is an open access, open peer reviewed journal founded and run by an international team of librarians working in various types of libraries. In addition to publishing articles and editorials by Editorial Board members, Lead Pipe publishes articles by authors representing diverse perspectives including educators, administrators, library support staff, technologists, and community members.
     
  • Information Research
    Open access, international, peer-reviewed, scholarly journal, dedicated to making accessible the results of research across a wide range of information-related disciplines.

     
  • Information Technology & Libraries
    Information Technology and Libraries publishes original material related to all aspects of information technology in all types of libraries. Topic areas include, but are not limited to, library automation, digital libraries, metadata, identity management, distributed systems and networks, computer security, intellectual property rights, technical standards, geographic information systems, desktop applications, information discovery tools, web-scale library services, cloud computing, digital preservation, data curation, virtualization, search-engine optimization, emerging technologies, social networking, open data, the semantic web, mobile services and applications, usability, universal access to technology, library consortia, vendor relations, and digital humanities.
     
  • Issues in Science and Technology Librarianship
    Substantive content of interest to science and technology librarians.  From ACRL's Science and Technology section.

     
  • Journal of Information Literacy
    An international, peer- reviewed journal that aims to investigate information literacy in all its forms to address the interests of diverse IL communities of practice.
     
  • Journal of Intellectual Freedom and Privacy
    The official journal of the Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF), an office of the American Library Association. A continuation of the Newsletter on Intellectual Freedom, which was published from 1952 to 2015.
     
  • Journal of New Librarianship
    The library is meant to set an example for academia. Free and open access to information and innovation is crucial to the future of our institutions and profession. By providing an outlet that mixes both traditional and disruptive forms of scholarly and professional communication, we can change the way our profession shares and leads.
     
  • Library and Information Research
    Published by CILIP's Library and Information Research Group. It publishes both refereed and non-refereed submissions.
     
  • Library Trends
    Explores critical trends in professional librarianship, and includes practical applications, thorough analyses, and literature reviews.
     
  • Marketing Libraries Journal
    Marketing Libraries Journal (MLJ) is a peer-reviewed, independently published, open access scholarly journal that focuses on
    innovative marketing activities libraries are engaged in.
     
  • OLA Quarterly
    Published by the Oregon Library Association.
     
  • portal: Libraries and the Academy
    Peer-reviewed articles addressing subjects such as library administration, information technology, and information policy.
     
  • Research Library Issues
    Research Library Issues (RLI) is a freely available, online-only publication of the Association of Research Libraries. RLI focuses on current and emerging topics that are strategically important to research libraries. The articles explore issues, share information, pose critical questions, and provide examples.
X
Ask Us
We're here to help!