Skip to Main Content

LCC Library

French Language & Literature Resources: Poetry

General resources for those taking French classes at Lane

Recommended Subject Headings

stack of books

Here is the relevant Library of Congress classification for 

French literature: 
PQ

When conducting a search for various titles related to French Poetry or Literature, the following LC subject headings will be very useful:

French literature – History and criticism

French literature – Philosophy

French literature – Translations into English

French poetry

French poetry – To 1500


If you would to begin a search in the library catalog, click here

University of Oregon Library

Knight Library 

The Knight Library at the University of Oregon has an impressive number of titles on the subject of French poetry. Click here to search the UO Libraries Catalog.

Here is a sample list:

Books & eBooks

Below is a sample of French poetry books in the LCC Library collection:

Recommended Database for Poetry Research

 

academic search complete logo

 

 

 

 

 

Academic Search Complete

Full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. Click on the link below to begin your search:

 

Academic Search Premier

 

Reference Collections

Looking for background information on a poet? Try searching the reference databases below:

 

Credo Reference logo

Credo Reference

Use Credo Reference to search and access over 460 high-quality encyclopedias and dictionaries and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. To begin your search, click on the link below:

Credo Reference

 

Oxford Reference logo

Oxford Reference Online

Combines rich and scholarly resources with authoritative quick-reference coverage of a broad range of topics. Includes over 340 dictionaries, encyclopedias, and companion guides to a range of disciplines. To begin your search, click on the link below:

Oxford Reference Online

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library logo

Gale Virtual Reference

Provides access to nearly 100 complete reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks. To begin your search, click on the link below:

Gale Virtual Reference

French Language Poets

 men gathered around table

Click on the link below for list of French Poets assembled by Wikipedia:

French Poets

Poetry in Translation

This website contains translations of classic texts by famous poets as well as original poetry and critical works. Click on the link below:

Poetry in Translation

Google Scholar

Google logo with Eiffel Tower

Google Scholar is a simple way which makes it easier for students, researchers and people associated with the academia to conduct broad research for scholarly literature, articles, peer-reviewed papers, thesis, books and various academic resources. It is important to note that the full texts of articles in Google Scholar are not necessarily available freely to all searchers. Students using Google Scholar are encouraged to contact or meet with librarians and talk how they can obtain the full-text of an article(s) or the entire book.

Google Scholar Search
X
Ask Us
We're here to help!