Skip to main content

LCC Library

English 196 International Film Histories: Film Reviews

The purpose of the guide is assist ENG196 students in locating film reviews, resources covering the history of film in the United States and the World.

Film Review Online

New York Times Film Reviews Online

Offers the complete reviews for 1960-present, and limited selection back to 1929. The Best Picture Oscar winners and the films selected by the paper as the "Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made." Reviews can be browsed by title, year, critic, country of origin, and genre

 

 

CineFiles

CineFiles contains scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the PFA Library's extensive collection covering world cinema, past and present.

 

Film Literature Index

 

The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. Ask a Librarian for help in locating the full-text for an article(s).

 

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals

This essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward.

 

Movie Review Query Engine

MRQE.com – the Movie Review Query Engine, founded in 1993 by Stewart M. Clamen, is the Internet’s largest database of movie reviews for over 100,000 titles. The continually growing site provides a searchable index of all published and available reviews, news, interviews, and other materials associated with specific movies.

 

Academic Search Complete

Use Academic Search Complete to search for articles in thousands of different scholarly journals and general interest magazines. Coverage extends back to the mid-1980s.

Subject Guide

David L. Doctor's picture
David L. Doctor
Contact:
Library

CEN324

541-463-5278
X
Ask Us
We're here to help!

Research Help:
(541) 463-5355

Renewals & Other Questions:
(541) 463-5273